Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

Find your chapter:

search by state

Home > The Savvy Caregiver
Home About Our Chapter Helping You Support Groups Care Navigation Community Resources Early Stage Services Education Walk to End Alzheimer's The Longest Day ALZ Stars Reason to Hope Illinois Women RivALZ Special Events Junior Board Donate Advocate Health Care Professionals Direct Connect Rapid Referral Research Corporate Engagement Foundation Relations Press Room Contact Us Volunteer
The Savvy Caregiver



Are you a caregiver for a family member who has Alzheimer’s disease or another, related dementia? Does that person live at home? Are you looking for ways to increase your knowledge and confidence in this role?

What is the Savvy Caregiver?
This program is designed to equip family members and others for the caregiving role. Developed by the University of Minnesota, the classes will help you gain:

  • A better understanding of the disease
  • The skills to assess the abilities of the person with dementia
  • The confidence to set and alter caregiving goals
  • Strategies to manage the day-to-day care of the person with dementia, including personal care
  • The skills to take better care of yourself
  • Tips on how to build a positive partnership with healthcare professionals
Class information
Savvy Caregiver is designed for family caregivers of individuals with Alzheimer’s who continue to live at home (not in a residential care setting). Classes meet for six consecutive weeks, for two hours each.

Cost
Classes are offered free of charge through an Alzheimer’s Disease Supportive Service Program (ADSSP) grant from the Administration for Community Living.

This program is supported in part by a cooperative agreement (No. 90ALGG0007-01-00) from the Administration on Aging (AoA), Administration for Community Living (ACL), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). Grantees carrying out projects under government sponsorship are encouraged to express freely their findings and conclusions. Therefore, points of view or opinions do not necessarily represent official AoA, ACL, or DHHS policy.

Upcoming classes (click to view details)

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Saturday, January 6, 2018
Saturday, January 13, 2018
Saturday, January 20, 2018
Saturday, January 27, 2018

Where: Town and Country Public Library District
320 E North St, Elburn, IL 60119

THIS PROGRAM HAS BEEN CANCELLED.

Six consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018

Where: Pinckneyville Community Hospital
5383 IL-154, Pinckneyville, IL 62274

THIS PROGRAM HAS BEEN CANCELLED.

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Where: Oswego Senior Center
156 E Washington Street Oswego, IL 60543

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Where: Fondulac Bank - Fondulac Room, 2nd Floor
201 Clock Tower Dr, East Peoria, IL

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018

Where: Alzheimer’s Association
1111 S Alpine Rd, #307, Rockford, IL 61108

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Where: Alzheimer's Association
207 S. Prospect Rd, Suite 1 Bloomington, IL 61704

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Where: Senior Services Center of Will County
251 N Center St, Joliet, IL 60435

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Wednesday, April 18
Wednesday, April 25
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Where: Advocate Eureka Hospital - Conference Room 4070
101 S. Major St. Eureka, IL

*FREE In-home respite care available through CIAA
Contact Mitch at 309.674.2071

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Four consecutive sessions:
*Call for class times*
Saturday, April 28, 2018
Saturday, May 6, 2018
Saturday, May 12, 2018
Saturday, May 19, 2018

Where: The Pointe Outreach Center
5650 Northwest Hwy, Crystal Lake Il 60014

For more information or to register call Trinnette Caldwell at 847.324.0360.

*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

 

Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.