Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

Find your chapter:

search by state

Home > The Savvy Caregiver
Home About Our Chapter Helping You Support Groups Care Navigation Community Resources En Espa˝ol Diversity Outreach Early Stage Services Education and E-Learning Professional Education Walk to End Alzheimer's ALZ Stars Special Events Donate Advocate Research Participate Corporate Engagement Local Stories Press Room Contact Us Volunteer
The Savvy Caregiver



Are you a caregiver for a family member who has Alzheimer’s disease or another, related dementia? Does that person live at home? Are you looking for ways to increase your knowledge and confidence in this role?

What is the Savvy Caregiver?
This program is designed to equip family members and others for the caregiving role. Developed by the University of Minnesota, the classes will help you gain:
A better understanding of the disease
• The skills to assess the abilities of the person with dementia
• The confidence to set and alter caregiving goals
• Strategies to manage the day-to-day care of the person with dementia, including personal care
• The skills to take better care of yourself
• Tips on how to build a positive partnership with healthcare professionals

Class information:
Savvy Caregiver is designed for family caregivers of individuals with Alzheimer’s who continue to live at home (not in a residential care setting). Classes meet for six consecutive weeks, for two hours each.

Cost:
Classes are offered free of charge through an Alzheimer’s Disease Supportive Service Program (ADSSP) grant from the Administration for Community Living.

Upcoming classes:
Join us at one of our upcoming classes. Click below for more details.

Six consecutive sessions:
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
*Call for class times*

Where:
Prentice Women's Hospital
3rd Floor, Conference Room P
250 E. Superior Street Chicago, IL

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 847.324.0377.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
*Call for class times*

Where:
Lansing Library
2750 Indiana Ave. Lansing, IL 60438

For more information or to register call Trinette Caldwell at 847.933.2413.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
*Call for class times*

Where:
Mokena Community Public Library District
11327 W. 195th Street Mokena, IL 60448

For more information or to register call Trinette Caldwell at 847.933.2413.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015

*Call for class times*

Where:
Community Adult Day Care
(Located within the Gloria Dei Lutheran Church)
4501 Main St. Downers Grove, IL 60515

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 847.324.0377.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Three consecutive sessions:
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015

Light breakfast will be provided.

*Call for class times*

Where:
Carbondale Township Office
217 E. Main St.Carbondale, IL 62901

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 618.985.1095.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Two consecutive sessions:
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Saturday, October 24, 2015

Light breakfast will be provided.

*Call for class times*

Where:
DeKalb Adult Day Center
126 South Fourth Street DeKalb, IL

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 815.484.1300.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016

*Call for class times*

Where:
Senior Services
110 W. Woodstock Rd Crystal Lake, IL

For more information or to register call Trinette Caldwell at 815.484.1300.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.