Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

Find your chapter:

search by state

Home > The Savvy Caregiver
Home About Our Chapter Helping You Support Groups Care Navigation Community Resources En Espa˝ol Diversity Outreach Early Stage Services Education and E-Learning Professional Education Walk to End Alzheimer's ALZ Stars Special Events Donate Advocate Research Participate Champions at Work Local Stories Press Room Contact Us Volunteer
The Savvy Caregiver



Are you a caregiver for a family member who has Alzheimer’s disease or another, related dementia? Does that person live at home? Are you looking for ways to increase your knowledge and confidence in this role?

What is the Savvy Caregiver?
This program is designed to equip family members and others for the caregiving role. Developed by the University of Minnesota, the classes will help you gain:
A better understanding of the disease
• The skills to assess the abilities of the person with dementia
• The confidence to set and alter caregiving goals
• Strategies to manage the day-to-day care of the person with dementia, including personal care
• The skills to take better care of yourself
• Tips on how to build a positive partnership with healthcare professionals

Class information:
Savvy Caregiver is designed for family caregivers of individuals with Alzheimer’s who continue to live at home (not in a residential care setting). Classes meet for six consecutive weeks, for two hours each.

Cost:
Classes are offered free of charge through an Alzheimer’s Disease Supportive Service Program (ADSSP) grant from the Administration for Community Living.

Upcoming classes:
Join us at one of our upcoming classes. Click below for more details.

Six consecutive sessions:
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Tuesday October 14, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
*Call for class times*

Where:
Alzheimer’s Association, Greater Illinois Chapter Joliet Office
850 Essington Road, Suite 200
Joliet, IL 60435

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 847.324.0377.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
*Call for class times*

Where:
Aging Care Connections
111 W. Harris La Grange, IL

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 847.324.0377.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Six consecutive sessions:
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
*Call for class times*

Where:
House of Welcome Adult Day Services
1779 Winnetka Road Northfield, IL

For more information or to register call Cheryl Dawson at 847.324.0377.
*Registration is limited to 12 participants, so please call soon.*

Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.